Welcome to Visions of Austria,
the geography portal of Similio

On this overview page of Visions of Austria, the geography portal of Similio, users can decide whether they want to explore Austria from a geographical or political perspective. The political organisation of Austria comprises the level of the federal provinces, regions, districts and municipalities. In total, it comprises well over 2000 political entities. Austria consists of 9 federal provinces, almost 40 regions, about 80 districts (excluding Vienna) and more than 2000 municipalities. In geographical terms, Austria comprises 8 topographies and 87 landscapes. These finally lead to the municipal level. The geographical organisation of Austria is based on the natural features of the country and offers an exciting and usually unusual view of Austria. Both at the political and geographical level, users will find further information, including on the population and land use. The companies of the respective entities of Austria are also only a few clicks away.


Austria is more than just the land of mountains (and forests). The Alpine republic in the heart of Europe with just under 9 million inhabitants is a diverse country in geographical and political terms. Organized on a federal level, Austria consists of 9 federal states and, geographically, 8 topographies. The national territory extends from the westernmost to the easternmost point for 575 kilometres. Austria borders Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west, Germany and the Czech Republic to the north, Slovakia and Hungary to the east, and Slovenia and Italy to the south.
Austria's political organisation follows the following structure: federal states, regions, districts and municipalities. The geographical organisation of Austria is based on the topographies (or large landscapes) as well as the landscapes, which in turn lead to the municipalities. Users can constantly switch between these organisational structures in order to discover the different perspectives of the Alpine Republic.
On Visions of Austria, users can explore all geographical and political entities of the country and navigate between them using interactive maps and compare them. Visions of Austria offers a wide range of information and statistics on various topics and also allows users to discover local companies.

Visions of Austria enables a comparison between the political and geographical perspectives of Austria. The differences within Austria, especially between East and West, are considerable, which makes a digital exploration tour particularly exciting. In this respect, the west, which is essentially shaped by the Alps and largely comprises the topography of the High Alps, is the counterpart of the lowlands in the east, which are merely the foothills of the Alpine region.
There are also considerable differences between the city and the countryside within Austria. For example, the capital of Austria is Vienna, the only Austrian city with more than one million inhabitants and at the same time the most populous federal state in Austria, followed by Lower Austria, Upper Austria and Styria.
In total, Austria is divided as follows: Based on the nine federal states, the Republic of Austria is divided into a further 79 districts and 15 statutory cities. These in turn consist of 2,096 municipalities, whereby the aforementioned statutory cities are also municipalities. (Status: 1 January 2019) Geographically, Austria consists of 8 topographies, which are composed of a total of 87 landscapes. Some of these landscapes are supra-regionally known regional designations, while others are largely unknown.

Willkommen auf Visions of Austria, dem Geographie-Portal von Similio

i Auf dieser Übersichtsseite von Visions of Austria, dem Geographie-Portal von Similio, können Nutzer entscheiden, ob sie Österreich aus geographischer oder politischer Perspektive erkunden wollen. Die politische Organisation Österreichs umfasst die Ebene der Bundesländer, der Regionen, der Bezirke und der Gemeinden. Diese umfasst in Summe deutlich über 2000 politische Entitäten. So besteht Österreich aus 9 Bundesländern, knapp 40 Regionen, circa 80 Bezirken (exklusive Wien) und über 2000 Gemeinden. In geographischer Hinsicht umfasst Österreich 8 Topographien und 87 Landschaften. Diese führen schließlich auf die Gemeindeebene. Die geographische Organisation Österreichs orientiert sich an den natürlichen Begebenheiten des Landes und bietet einen spannenden und in der Regel ungewohnten Blick auf Österreich. Sowohl auf politischer als auch geographischer Ebene finden Nutzer weiterführende Informationen, unter anderem zur Bevölkerung und zur Flächennutzung. Auch die Unternehmen der jeweiligen Entitäten Österreichs sind nur wenige Klicks entfernt.


Österreich ist mehr als nur das Land der Berge (und der Wälder). Die Alpenrepublik im Herzen Europas mit knapp unter 9 Millionen Einwohnern ist in geographischer und politischer Hinsicht ein vielfältiges Land. Bundesstaatlich organisiert besteht Österreich aus 9 Bundesländern und in geographischer Hinsicht aus 8 Topographien. Das Staatsgebiet erstreckt sich vom westlichsten zum östlichsten Punkt auf 575 Kilometern. Im Westen grenzt Österreich an die Schweiz und Liechtenstein, im Norden an Deutschland und Tschechien, im Osten an die Slowakei und Ungarn sowie im Süden an Slowenien und Italien.
Die politische Organisation Österreichs folgt folgender Struktur: Bundesländer, Regionen, Bezirke und Gemeinden. Die geographische Organisation Österreich orientiert sich an den Topographien (bzw. Großlandschaften) sowie den Landschaften, die wiederum zu den Gemeinden führen. Nutzer können laufend zwischen diesen Organisationsstrukturen wechseln, um die verschiedenen Perspektiven der Alpenrepublik zu entdecken.
Nutzer können auf Visions of Austria alle geographischen und politischen Einheiten des Landes erkunden und mittels interaktiver Karten zwischen diesen navigieren und diese vergleichen. Visions of Austria bietet vielfältige Informationen und Statistiken zu diversen Themenbereichen und erlaubt es Nutzern darüber hinaus Unternehmen vor Ort zu entdecken.

Visions of Austria ermöglicht den Vergleich zwischen der politischen und der geographischen Perspektive Österreichs. So sind die Verschiedenheiten innerhalb Österreichs insbesondere zwischen Ost und West erheblich, was eine digitale Erkundungstour besonders spannend macht. Der wesentlich von den Alpen geprägte Westen, der zum größten Teil die Topographie der Hochalpen umfasst, ist dahingehend das Gegenstück zum Flachland im Osten, das lediglich zu den Ausläufern des alpinen Raums gehört.
Auch zwischen Stadt und Land sind erhebliche Unterschiede innerhalb Österreichs wahrzunehmen. So ist zum Beispiel die Hauptstadt Österreichs Wien, die einzige österreichische Stadt mit mehr als einer Millionen Einwohner und zugleich das bevölkerungsreichste Bundesland Österreichs gefolgt von Niederösterreich, Oberösterreich und der Steiermark.
In Summe unterteilt sich Österreich folgendermaßen: Aufbauend auf den neun Bundesländern teilt sich die Republik Österreich in weitere 79 Bezirke und 15 Statutarstädte. Diese bestehen wiederum aus 2.096 Gemeinden, wobei die bereits genannten Statutarstädte zugleich Gemeinden sind. (Stand: 1. Jänner 2019) Geographisch besteht Österreich aus 8 Topographien, die sich aus insgesamt 87 Landschaften zusammensetzen. Einige dieser Landschaften sind überregional bekannte Regionalbezeichnungen, andere sind hingegen größtenteils unbekannt.