The homepage of Similio with the map of Austria is the starting point for navigation on Similio and allows to explore the political organization of Austria. The interactive map shows Austria in its political division into 9 federal states. By clicking on one of the provinces on the map or alternatively on one of the previews below the map, users can access the profile page of the province, where further information on inhabitants, area and other topics can be found. Directly below the map there is a slider that allows users to switch to the geographical view of Austria, where Austria is divided into 8 topographies or large landscapes. At the bottom of the page there are also links to the topic pages of Austria by Similio. These topics include areas such as land prices, unemployment or population development.
Political Switch map view Geographical
Coats of arms Burgenland

Burgenland

Burgenland is the easternmost province of the Republic of Austria and borders in the west on the provinces of Lower Austria and Styria. Burgenland also borders Slovakia and Hungary to the east. The provincial capital of Burgenland is Eisenstadt. The name Burgenland comes from the historical name of the Hungarian administrative units there during the Habsburg Monarchy, which all bore the name "castle". Geographically, Burgenland is characterised in particular by Lake Neusiedl in northern Burgenland. Politically, the SPÖ has provided the provincial governor of Burgenland since 1964.

Coats of arms Lower Austria

Lower Austria

Lower Austria is the largest province of the Republic of Austria in terms of area. Lower Austria borders Upper Austria in the west, Styria in the south and Burgenland in the southeast. The province of Vienna is also surrounded by Lower Austria. The neighbouring countries are the Czech Republic in the north and Slovakia in the east. The provincial capital of Lower Austria has been St. Pölten since 1986. The federal state is divided regionally into the Weinviertel in the northwest, the Waldviertel in the northeast, the Industrieviertel in the southeast and the Mostviertel in the southwest. In the field of spatial planning, which divides Lower Austria into five main regions, there is also Lower Austria-Mitte. The province consists of 573 municipalities and is rich in cultural centres such as the Melk Abbey.

Coats of arms Vienna

Vienna

Vienna is the capital of the Republic of Austria and at the same time a federal state completely enclosed by Lower Austria. Vienna is divided into 23 districts and is the largest city in Austria. Vienna is characterized culturally by the Schönbrunn Palace and the Wilhelminian style architecture on the Ringstrasse. Along the Ringstrasse there are landmarks such as the town hall, the Burgtheater, the parliament, the art and natural history museum, the Hofburg, the State Opera, which is the venue for the Opera Ball each year, and the Musikverein, the venue for the world-famous New Year's concert. Within the ring is the First District, the center of which is Vienna's St. Stephen's Cathedral. The belt also surrounds the inner city districts of Vienna. In addition to its cultural diversity, Vienna is also home to various international organizations such as the UN, the OSCE and OPEC.

Districts
79
Coats of arms Carinthia

Carinthia

The southernmost province of the Republic of Austria is Carinthia. Carinthia borders East Tyrol in the west and Salzburg and Styria in the north. Carinthia's neighbours are Italy and Slovenia. The provincial capital is Klagenfurt and another important regional centre is Villach. Carinthia is very suitable both for summer tourism due to its lakes such as Lake Wörthersee and for alpine tourism due to its ski resorts.

Coats of arms Styria

Styria

Styria is the second largest province of the Republic of Austria in terms of area. The provincial capital is Graz. Styria borders Carinthia to the south, Tyrol and Salzburg to the west, Upper and Lower Austria to the north and Burgenland to the east. Slovenia is a neighbouring country of Styria. The name of the federal state has its origin in the town of Steyr in Upper Austria. Culinary Styria is especially known for the Styrian pumpkin seed oil.

Coats of arms Upper Austria

Upper Austria

Upper Austria is a federal state of the Republic of Austria located in the north and borders Salzburg in the west, Styria in the south and Lower Austria in the east. The province also shares a border with the German Free State of Bavaria and the Czech Republic. The provincial capital of Upper Austria is Linz and the province consists of 438 municipalities.

Statutory cities
15
Coats of arms Salzburg

Salzburg

The province of Salzburg with its capital of the same name is due to its history a special case among the Austrian provinces. As an imperial principality it was independent of the House of Habsburg during the Holy Roman Empire and was also assigned to Bavaria. The salt trade was formative for the name. The federal state borders on Tyrol, Carinthia, Styria and Salzburg. In the north it borders on the German Free State of Bavaria. The federal state is divided into 6 political districts and 113 municipalities.

Coats of arms Tyrol

Tyrol

Tyrol is a western province of the Republic of Austria and is divided into North and East Tyrol. The province borders Vorarlberg in the west and Salzburg and Carinthia in the east. Tyrol's neighbours are the German Free State of Bavaria in the north and the autonomous Italian region of Trentino-South Tyrol in the south. Historically, Tyrol was divided between the Republic of Austria and the Republic of Italy by the Treaty of St. Germain in 1919. The capital of the province is Innsbruck. Geographically, Tyrol as an Alpine region is characterised by mountains and the central river of the province is the Inn.

Coats of arms Vorarlberg

Vorarlberg

Vorarlberg is the westernmost province of the Republic of Austria and borders in the east on the province of Tyrol. The neighbouring countries also include the German Free State of Bavaria in the north, the Swiss canton of St. Gallen in the west and the canton of Graubünden in the south. Vorarlberg also shares a border with the Principality of Liechtenstein. In the north of Vorarlberg lies Lake Constance, which is, however, largely part of the Swiss Confederation and the Federal Republic of Germany.

Municipalities
2.095
Due to the current measures of the federal government to contain the corona pandemic (COVID-19), there may be differences between the information presented on Similio and the actual current situation.

Die Startseite von Similio mit der Karte von Österreich bildet den Ausgangspunkt für die Navigation auf Similio und ermöglicht die politische Organisation Österreichs zu erkunden. Auf der interaktiven Karte ist Österreich in seiner politischen Unterteilung in 9 Bundesländer zu sehen. Mit einem Klick auf eines der Bundesländer auf der Karte oder alternativ auf eine der Vorschauen unter der Karte gelangen Nutzer zur Profilseite des Bundeslands, wo weitere Informationen zu Einwohnern, Fläche und sonstigen Themen zu finden sind. Direkt unterhalb der Karte befindet sich ein Regler, mit dem Nutzer zur geographischen Ansicht Österreichs wechseln können, auf der Österreich in 8 Topographien bzw. Großlandschaften unterteilt ist. Am Ende der Seite sind weiters noch Links zu den Themen-Seiten Österreichs von Similio platziert. Diese Themen umfassen unter anderem Bereiche wie Grundstückspreise, Arbeitslosigkeit oder die Bevölkerungsentwicklung.
Politisch Kartenansicht wechseln Geografisch
Wappen Burgenland

Burgenland

Das Burgenland ist das östlichste Bundesland der Republik Österreich und grenzt im Westen an die Bundesländer Niederösterreich und Steiermark. Das Burgenland grenzt weiters im Osten an die Slowakei und an Ungarn. Die Landeshauptstadt des Burgenlands ist Eisenstadt. Der Name Burgenland entstammt der historischen Bezeichnung der dortigen ungarischen Verwaltungseinheiten während der Habsburgermonarchie, die alle „Burg“ im Namen trugen. Geographisch wird das Burgenland insbesondere vom im Nordburgenland befindlichen Neusiedler See geprägt. Politisch stellt die SPÖ seit 1964 durchgehend den Landeshauptmann des Burgenlands.

Wappen Niederösterreich

Niederösterreich

Niederösterreich ist das flächenmäßig größte Bundesland der Republik Österreich. Niederösterreich grenzt im Westen an Oberösterreich, im Süden an die Steiermark und im Südosten an das Burgenland. Das Bundesland Wien ist weiters von Niederösterreich umschlossen. Zu den Nachbarländern gehören die Tschechische Republik im Norden sowie die Slowakei im Osten. Die Landeshauptstadt Niederösterreichs ist seit 1986 St. Pölten. Regional ist das Bundesland unterteilt in das Weinviertel im Nordwesten, in das Waldviertel im Nordosten, in das Industrieviertel im Südosten und in das Mostviertel im Südwesten. Auf dem Gebiet der Raumplanung, die Niederösterreich in fünf Hauptregionen teilt, besteht noch dazu NÖ-Mitte. Das Bundesland besteht aus 573 Gemeinden und ist reich an Kulturzentren wie zum Beispiel dem Stift Melk.

Wappen Wien

Wien

Wien ist die Hauptstadt der Republik Österreich und zugleich ein gänzlich von Niederösterreich umschlossenes Bundesland. Wien ist in 23 Bezirke gegliedert und die größte Stadt Österreichs. Kulturell zeichnet sich Wien unter anderem durch das Schloss Schönbrunn sowie durch die Gründerzeit-Architektur an der Ringstraße aus. An der Ringstraße entlang stehen Wahrzeichen wie das Rathaus, das Burgtheater, das Parlament, das Kunst- und Naturhistorische Museum, die Hofburg, die Staatsoper, die jährlich Schauplatz des Opernballs ist, sowie der Musikverein, der Schauplatz des weltberühmten Neujahrskonzerts ist. Innerhalb des Rings befindet sich der Erste Bezirk, dessen Mittelpunkt der Wiener Stephansdom ist. Weiters umschließt der Gürtel die Innenstadtbezirke Wiens. Wien ist neben seiner kulturellen Vielfalt auch Sitz diverser internationaler Organisationen wie der UNO, der OSZE sowie der OPEC.

Bezirke
79
Wappen Kärnten

Kärnten

Das südlichste Bundesland der Republik Österreich ist Kärnten. Kärnten grenzt im Westen an Osttirol und im Norden an Salzburg und die Steiermark. Die Nachbarländer Kärntens sind Italien und Slowenien. Die Landeshauptstadt ist Klagenfurt und ein weiteres bedeutendes regionales Zentrum ist Villach. Kärnten ist sowohl für den Sommer- aufgrund der Seen wie dem Wörthersee als auch für den Alpintourismus aufgrund der Skigebiete sehr geeignet.

Wappen Steiermark

Steiermark

Die Steiermark ist das flächenmäßig zweitgrößte Bundesland der Republik Österreich. Die Landeshauptstadt ist Graz. Die Steiermark grenzt im Süden an Kärnten, im Westen an Tirol und Salzburg, im Norden an Ober- und Niederösterreich sowie im Osten an das Burgenland. Slowenien ist ein Nachbarland der Steiermark. Der Name des Bundeslandes hat seinen Ursprung in der in Oberösterreich liegenden Stadt Steyr. Kulinarisch ist die Steiermark besonders für das steirische Kürbiskernöl bekannt.

Wappen Oberösterreich

Oberösterreich

Oberösterreich ist ein im Norden gelegenes Bundesland der Republik Österreich und grenzt im Westen an Salzburg, im Süden an die Steiermark und im Osten an Niederösterreich. Das Bundesland teilt sich weiters eine Grenze mit dem deutschen Freistaat Bayern und der Tschechischen Republik. Die Landeshauptstadt Oberösterreichs ist Linz und das Bundesland besteht aus 438 Gemeinden.

Statutarstädte
15
Wappen Salzburg

Salzburg

Das Bundesland Salzburg mit der gleichnamigen Landeshauptstadt ist aufgrund seiner Geschichte ein Sonderfall unter den österreichischen Bundesländern. Als Reichsfürstentum war es zu Zeiten des Heiligen Römischen Reichs vom Hause Habsburg unabhängig und wurde weiters Bayern zugeordnet. Für den Namen prägend war der Salzhandel. Das Bundesland grenzt an Tirol, Kärnten, Steiermark und Salzburg. Im Norden grenzt es an den deutschen Freistaat Bayern. Das Bundesland ist in 6 politische Bezirke und 113 Gemeinden unterteilt.

Wappen Tirol

Tirol

Tirol ist ein westliches Bundesland der Republik Österreich und ist unterteilt in Nord- sowie Osttirol. Das Bundesland grenzt im Westen an Vorarlberg und im Osten an Salzburg und Kärnten. Nachbarländer Tirols sind im Norden der deutsche Freistaat Bayern sowie im Süden die autonome italienische Region Trentino-Südtirol. Aus historischer Sicht wurde Tirol durch den Vertrag von St. Germain im Jahr 1919 zwischen der Republik Österreich und der Republik Italien aufgeteilt. Landeshauptstadt des Bundeslandes ist Innsbruck. Geographisch ist Tirol als Alpenregion vom Gebirge geprägt und der zentrale Fluss des Bundeslandes ist der Inn.

Wappen Vorarlberg

Vorarlberg

Vorarlberg ist das westlichste Bundesland der Republik Österreich und grenzt im Osten an das Bundesland Tirol. Zu den Nachbarländern gehören weiters im Norden der deutsche Freistaat Bayern, im Westen das schweizerische Kanton St. Gallen und im Süden das Kanton Graubünden. Weiters teilt sich Vorarlberg auch eine Grenze mit dem Fürstentum Liechtenstein. Im Norden Vorarlbergs liegt der Bodensee, der jedoch zu weiten Teilen der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft sowie der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zugeordnet wird.

Gemeinden
2.095
Wegen der aktuellen Maßnahmen der Bundesregierung zur Eindämmung der Corona Pandemie (COVID-19) können Abweichungen zwischen den auf Similio dargestellten Informationen und der tatsächlichen aktuellen Situation bestehen.